8 min read · Last updated August 31, 2026
- The Repayment Assistance Plan (RAP) is the current federal Income-Driven Repayment (IDR) plan for most new borrowers since July 1, 2026, basing payments on 1% to 10% of adjusted gross income (AGI) over 30 years.
- Miss your recertification deadline and your RAP payment reverts to the 10-year Standard Repayment amount, calculated on the balance you owed when the loan first entered repayment, not your current balance.
- Your deadline is not a shared calendar date. It is set individually per borrower and appears in your StudentAid.gov account as your own recertification date.
- Under the older Income-Based Repayment (IBR) Plan, a missed deadline does something RAP’s own published rules do not: it capitalizes unpaid interest onto your principal balance.
In this article
- What the Repayment Assistance Plan actually is
- Who has to recertify, and who it affects
- What happens when you miss the deadline
- How to recertify or get back on track
- Common reasons people get blindsided
- Frequently asked questions
Devon’s federal student loan moved onto the Repayment Assistance Plan (RAP) this year, and his monthly payment recalculated to $140 based on his $42,000 adjusted gross income (AGI) and no dependents. He let his recertification notice sit unopened. When the deadline passed, his next bill was $318.
What the Repayment Assistance Plan actually is
The One Big Beautiful Bill Act (OBBBA), the federal law signed July 4, 2025, rebuilt federal student loan repayment. For any borrower whose loan was first paid out on or after July 1, 2026, the only repayment choices are RAP and the Tiered Standard Plan. RAP replaced the SAVE (Saving on a Valuable Education) plan, which is no longer listed as an option on StudentAid.gov’s own repayment plans page.
Under RAP, your monthly payment is not based on what you owe. It is based on your income and household size. The government pulls your AGI, most often straight from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) with your consent, divides a set percentage of it by 12, and subtracts $50 for every dependent you claim. The floor is $10 a month. The percentage climbs in $10,000 AGI bands, from 1% just above $10,000 up to 10% once AGI passes $100,000. Repayment stretches over 30 years.
Two older plans still exist for borrowers who qualify: the Income-Based Repayment (IBR) Plan and, for a shrinking pool of existing enrollees, the Income-Contingent Repayment (ICR) Plan and the Pay As You Earn (PAYE) Plan. The Department of Education has confirmed it will eliminate ICR and PAYE no later than July 1, 2028.
Who has to recertify, and who it affects
Every IDR plan, RAP included, requires you to update your income and family size once a year, even if nothing changed. This is called recertification. Most Direct Loan borrowers qualify for RAP, with a short list of exceptions: parent PLUS loans and consolidation loans that paid one off don’t qualify.
Federal Family Education Loan (FFEL) Program borrowers are affected differently. They cannot use the automatic IRS pull, and they are not eligible for the servicer’s autorecertification feature at all. They have to submit income documents by hand, every year, or consolidate into a Direct Loan to get those conveniences.
Your recertification deadline is not the same for every borrower and it is not tied to a fixed calendar date like January 1. It is set individually, based on when your income was last certified, and StudentAid.gov and its servicers display it in your account as your own recertification date. Notices typically start arriving up to 90 days ahead of it.
What happens when you miss the deadline
Here is the mechanic the topic itself gets wrong in most consumer explainers: missing recertification does not automatically capitalize your interest under every plan. It depends which plan you are on.
Under RAP, StudentAid.gov’s own published consequence is narrower than people assume. You stay enrolled in RAP. But your payment stops being based on income. It becomes the amount you would owe under the Standard Repayment Plan, spread over 10 years, calculated on the balance you owed when the loan first entered repayment, not your current balance.
Take Devon’s numbers. At $42,000 AGI with no dependents, his RAP payment lands in the 4% AGI band: $42,000 x 0.04 / 12 equals $140 a month. Say he owed $28,000 when his loan entered repayment, at 6.52%, the fixed rate on federal undergraduate loans first disbursed between July 1, 2026 and June 30, 2027, per StudentAid.gov’s interest rate table. A standard 10-year payment on that balance runs $318 a month. That’s the jump: $178 more every month, with no missed-payment notice involved, just a missed form.
Under IBR, a missed deadline triggers the same payment reversion Devon saw, plus one more thing: any interest you haven’t paid gets added to your principal balance. StudentAid.gov’s Income-Driven Repayment Plans page states plainly that under IBR, “any unpaid interest will capitalize (be added to the principal balance of your loans),” which then increases the total cost of the loan because interest starts accruing on the larger balance. That specific consequence is stated for IBR alone; the same page’s RAP and PAYE/ICR sections describe the payment reversion but do not mention capitalization.
| Plan | Payment after a missed deadline | Does unpaid interest capitalize? | Path back to income-based payments |
|---|---|---|---|
| Repayment Assistance Plan (RAP) | Reverts to the 10-year Standard amount, based on the balance owed when the loan entered repayment | Not stated in RAP’s own published consequence | Submit updated income; no income ceiling to requalify |
| Income-Based Repayment (IBR) | Same 10-year Standard reversion | Yes, unpaid interest capitalizes onto principal | Submit updated income that still qualifies you for income-based payments |
| Pay As You Earn (PAYE) | Same 10-year Standard reversion | Not stated in StudentAid.gov’s PAYE/ICR guidance | Submit updated income low enough to requalify |
| Income-Contingent Repayment (ICR) | Same 10-year Standard reversion | Not addressed in StudentAid.gov’s published ICR guidance | Submit updated income |

That is the practical difference a missed deadline makes: an IBR borrower who falls off recertification pays a higher monthly bill and watches unpaid interest get folded into principal at the same time. A RAP borrower who falls off pays the higher bill, but StudentAid.gov’s own published consequence for RAP does not add that second cost.
How to recertify or get back on track
If you gave consent for the IRS data pull when you applied, your servicer can recertify you automatically each year without paperwork. You’ll get a notice before the new payment takes effect either way.
If you missed your deadline and landed on the Standard reversion amount, you are not stuck there. Submit updated income information to your servicer to get back onto an income-based payment. Under RAP, there is no income ceiling you have to clear to requalify, unlike IBR and PAYE, where your updated income has to be low enough again.
If your income dropped since your last tax filing, you don’t have to wait for your official deadline. You can submit alternative documentation, like a recent pay stub, and recalculate your payment right away.
Common reasons people get blindsided
You assume your deadline works like a lease renewal, on a fixed date everyone shares. It doesn’t. Log into your StudentAid.gov account and confirm your actual recertification date instead of guessing from your enrollment month.
You assume “no change in income” means recertification is optional. It’s the opposite. You have to recertify every year even when your income and family size haven’t moved at all.
You assume RAP works like the plan you remember from a previous servicer, especially SAVE. SAVE isn’t a current option, and RAP’s payment math, its 30-year term, and its recertification consequences are all different. Reading old advice about “capitalization” and applying it to RAP without checking is how people overstate what will happen to them.
You have FFEL loans and assume autorecertification covers you. It doesn’t. FFEL borrowers have to submit income documents manually every year unless they consolidate into a Direct Loan.
You let a 90-day notice window slide because the deadline still looks far off. Set your own reminder for 30 days before your recertification date, not when the first notice lands.
Frequently asked questions
Do I qualify for RAP if I already have an older IBR or ICR loan? Possibly, but you may not need to switch. If none of your loans were first disbursed on or after July 1, 2026, you likely still have access to IBR, ICR, or PAYE alongside RAP. Compare payment amounts and capitalization risk with your servicer before switching plans.
What happens if I miss my deadline by just a few days? StudentAid.gov ties the consequence to the deadline itself, not a grace window. If your recertification isn’t processed by your date, your payment can revert to the Standard amount for that billing cycle, even if your paperwork is only a few days late. Submit updated income immediately to get reprocessed.
How do I find my actual recertification date instead of guessing? Log into your StudentAid.gov account, open your loan details, and look for your recertification date, sometimes labeled your IDR Anniversary Date, under your repayment plan information. Your servicer also mails and emails reminders, typically starting 90 days ahead, so check your account well before the first one arrives.
Do I need new documents if my income hasn’t changed? Yes. Recertification is required every year, even if nothing about your income or family size changed since last time. If you consented to the automatic IRS data pull when you applied, this can happen without any paperwork. Otherwise, you must resubmit your documentation yourself before your deadline passes.
What documents do I need if I don’t qualify for the automatic IRS pull? FFEL Program borrowers and anyone who didn’t consent to the IRS pull need a copy of their most recent federal tax return, an IRS tax return transcript, or alternative income documentation like a pay stub if their income has since dropped.




Leave a Comment